The Thing About Endings Is…….

Caution: Mini rant about to take place

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I am very, very picky about how books end, and I’m often left somewhere between mildly unsatisfied to extremely irritated. It’s ridiculous really.

But, if you ask me, there should never be what I call “loose ends” when a book finally comes to a close. Though I’m always a little sad when I’m forced to leave a world I have become so ingrained in, part ways with characters I’ve grown to love and/or hate, their story should end with that final closing of the book (at least until the next time it’s read). I don’t want to sit staring off in to space, wondering what happened to a certain character. If they have been brought into the story, it should have been for a reason and their path should be seen through to the end, not cut off with the rest left to mystery or imagination. I suppose I understand doing it on purpose, in an attempt to create some profound meaning, but at the same time it should be done in such a way that it is almost apparent, neat and seamless, not sloppy and blunt.

At the end of the day, I guess I just need closure when I read a book. Many times, things happen in books that I don’t want to accept, like deaths, loves, etc.; but most often I don’t want the story itself to end. So if I’m going to tear myself away from the world I had been whisked into, it needs to be clean and swift, with no jagged edges nagging at the recesses of my mind, conjuring up my own continuation for characters, pulling them out of the void from which their creator so carelessly threw them in when they wrote them out of the story without a proper goodbye.

 

~End Rant~

Leave a comment